Mashed potato and veggie green chile enchilada casserole

Easy Mashed Potato and Roasted Vegetable Enchiladas

I started off with this recipe, and tweaked it. I made it with real mashed potatoes, about 8 medium sized russets, diced and cooked till tender with a touch of butter and salt in the water. Instead of roasting the veggies, I sauteed them in a little butter so I wouldn’t have to turn on the oven. I used onion, yellow pepper, broccoli, yellow squash, and carrot. Once the potatoes were cooked, I mixed all the veggies together, added a little more butter, salt, pepper, cumin, oregano, and a can of evaporated milk until blended.

I did not oil cook the tortillas first, I just shredded them into a bowl. Them I added the potato mixture. I made a green chile cream sauce with a tablespoon of butter and about 12 ounces of frozen green chiles. After they cooked for a bit, I added a cup of heavy cream and a half cup of milk, cumin, garlic, oregano and sea salt. I warmed this just until the edges bubbled. I mixed the tortillas, potato mixture and about half the sauce in a large bowl. I spooned the mixture into a large baking pan prepped with cooking spray. I poured the rest of the sauce on top, added a couple handfuls of chddar and mozzarella cheese, and baked it at 400 F for about 45 minutes. I served it with homemade guacamole, sour cream, and tomatoes. It tasted just like the green chile chicken enchiladas we used to make. Win!

Share your thoughts

