Time Management

I’ve started using HabitRPG to help me track my to-do’s. It’s a page that lets me earn “experience” points for doing my chores. It jsut makes it more interesting, and I’ve found I’m much better about tracking things because I don’t want to die and lose my cool armor :). I’m geeky, so this is right up my alley. 🙂

I don’t schedule things down to the minute anymore (I’ve been known to do that), because I have a three year old and I need more flexibility. So I list the chores I need to get done in the order I need to do them, and I have a separate list of monthly chores that I check off. I’m going to start posting my schedule to 1) help hold myself accountable, and 2) give people who might be struggling ideas of how to organize time. This works for me…it won’t work for everyone. But you can take the concepts and adapt them for yourself, if you like :).

Chores for Friday:

  • Pick up bedroom floor
  • pick up Caity’s bedroom (she helps with this)
  • Make beds (Caity makes her own)
  • Pick up livingroom floor (Caity does most of this, as it’s often her toys on the floor 🙂 )
  • Plan Dinner ( I have to put this down or I’ll forget to put something out to thaw, and we don’t own a microwave)
  • Clear surfaces (I walk through the whole house and put away anything that doesn’t belong where it’s been laid. This is the BEST clutter solver out there. Even if I feel crappy, I will not miss this chore every day) This also includes putting away the dishes in the drainer
  • Wash dishes
  • Wipe counters/stove/table (Caity does this, then I double check for cleanliness…she does an amazing job for someone with tiny arms 🙂 )
  • Take out Trash (hubby does this, but I have to remind him)
  • ABC Mouse with Caity (this is her school stuff, we homeschool)
  • Clean Fridge (it’s trash day, so a good day to clean the experiments out of the fridge 🙂 )
  • Sweep/mop floors
  • Clean Caity’s bedroom walls – monthly chore (I’ll likely skip this one today, as I did this about a week ago when I set up her room, I’ll spot check it though)

Work Reminders

  • post in FB groups
  • empty inbox
  • blog
  • crochet for three hours minimum
  • web work 1 hour minimum

It took me a long time to learn to be organized. I used Flylady and Unfuck Your Habitat to help me set up my system as it is now. I like it, it keeps me focused, and I like the game aspect. if anyone joins HabitRPG let me know…we can join a “party” together and do quests :).

 

Share your thoughts

