Current Events

My husband and I had a good discussion tonight. It’s not very often anymore we have time for a good, old-fashioned debate. It was kinda nice. But…

I avoid the news, local, national, and world, as much as I can. I avoid heated political and religious discussions. I keep my head down, and try to keep a low profile.

People often think this is because I don’t care. That’s not the case. The issue is I care far too much. When I am confronted with all the misery, hate, fear and mistreatment I see everyday on the news, my anxiety sky rockets. I can’t see the suffering of others and simply not care. But I feel so powerless to do anything about what is beyond my small corner of the universe. I will literally become immobile, an overloaded pile of mush, if I let myself witness all the hate around me.

Yes, I want to see many things change. No, I don’t feel like there’s much I can do about it. So, I cancelled my cable subscription, I avoid newspapers and MSN/Yahoo feeds. What little I know of what goes on in the world is because one of my loved ones tells me. It’s a choice I make for my sanity. I am sorry most people cannot understand this, but I choose to focus on things I can fix, rather than work myself into a non-functioning tizzy over things I can never fix.

Someday, I just hope that people will stop hating each other so much.

Share your thoughts

