Exhaustion – my first poem in 9 years.

It feels like my life is defined by exhaustion

Some days, I’m just too tired to breathe
My bones ache, my muscles burn
Not from exertion, but just the simple act of living
Breathing takes work, thinking takes effort
For no particular reason

Some days, I’m just too tired to feel
My heart aches, my memories burn
Not from exertion, but just the simple act of living
Feeling takes work, understanding takes effort
For no particular reason

Some days, I’m just too tired to pray
My soul aches, my aura burns
Not from exertion, but just the simple act of living
Praying takes work, forgiveness takes effort
For no particular reason

Please love me when I’m exhausted

For no particular reason

 

One thought on “Exhaustion – my first poem in 9 years.

Share your thoughts

